Export reference · Southern Africa
Zambia ZAMRA Drug Registration Process: The Exporter’s Guide
ZAMRA runs four separate review models with four different clocks. Most exporters only ever file on the slowest one, without checking whether their product already qualifies for something faster.
The short answer
A full national review at the Zambia Medicines Regulatory Authority (ZAMRA) targets 351 calendar days. If your product is already WHO-prequalified, approved by a stringent regulatory authority or WHO-Listed Authority, or has a positive ZAZIBONA joint-assessment recommendation, ZAMRA’s own published target for a verification review is 90 calendar days — a real difference, not a marketing claim.[1]
A marketing authorisation, once granted, is valid for five years.[3] Zambia’s fee schedule prices a generic registration at US$2,000 and an abridged application at US$1,700 — the gap is real but modest; the bigger saving is in the timeline, not the fee.[2]
Four review models, one regulator
ZAMRA operates under the Medicines and Allied Substances Act No. 3 of 2013, with the Marketing Authorisation of Medicines Regulations, 2019 (Statutory Instrument No. 79 of 2019) governing how an application is reviewed, granted, renewed and revoked.[3] Underneath that legal frame, a 2021 peer-reviewed study comparing six Southern African regulators — with ZAMRA as a named participating agency — documented ZAMRA’s own published targets for four distinct review models.[1]
| Review model | ZAMRA’s target | Who qualifies | Dossier depth |
|---|---|---|---|
| Verification review | 90 calendar days | Product already approved by WHO Prequalification, a stringent/WHO-Listed authority, or ZAZIBONA | Full Module 1–2; summaries only for Modules 3–5 |
| Abridged review | 351 calendar days | Legacy molecules assessed as minimal risk only — a narrow category at ZAMRA specifically | Summaries for Modules 3–5 |
| Full review | 351 calendar days | Any applicant; the default route | Full Modules 1–5 |
| Fast-track / priority | 113 calendar days | Demonstrated unmet medical need, at a higher fee | Depends on underlying route |
Scroll the table sideways on a phone. Targets as published in the cited 2021 study; ZAMRA’s actual current internal targets may have been revised since.
The detail most guides miss
At most of the peer regulators studied, “abridged” review is genuinely faster than full review. At ZAMRA specifically, the study recorded the same 351-day target for abridged and full review, because Zambia’s abridged category is reserved narrowly for legacy, minimal-risk molecules rather than any reference-approved product.[1] The real fast lane at ZAMRA is verification review, not abridged review. Don’t assume the two behave the same way they do elsewhere in the region.
Do you qualify for verification review?
Three questions. Answer them honestly against what you can actually document — the review model ZAMRA assigns your file to depends on it.
Is the finished product WHO-Prequalified?
Is it approved by a stringent regulatory authority or WHO-Listed Authority, with an assessment report you can share?
Has it received a positive ZAZIBONA joint-assessment recommendation?
Answer all three questions above.
Basis: review-model criteria reported in the 2021 SADC comparative study.[1] Nothing you enter here is saved or transmitted.
If you are an Indian manufacturer, read this before you file
CDSCO is not on WHO’s list of WHO-Listed Authorities, so an Indian marketing authorisation on its own does not open ZAMRA’s verification review door.[9] What does open it: WHO Prequalification of the finished product, an approval from an actual stringent authority such as a US ANDA or an EU marketing authorisation with a shareable assessment report, or a positive ZAZIBONA recommendation on that product. Notably, the 2021 study found Zambia is one of only two of the six countries studied — alongside South Africa — that had standing agreements to access unredacted assessment reports from WHO-listed reference agencies, not just the public versions.[1] That makes ZAMRA’s verification route genuinely usable where the paperwork exists, rather than a route that exists on paper only.
ZAZIBONA: the regional route, and what it actually requires
ZAZIBONA is a SADC collaborative medicines-registration initiative, named for its four founding regulators — Zambia, Zimbabwe, Botswana and Namibia — and formally endorsed by SADC Health Ministers in January 2015.[4] As of the most recent published participation list, 9 of the 16 SADC member states actively assess dossiers under it: Zambia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Namibia, Tanzania, the DRC, Malawi, Mozambique and South Africa.[5]
As at December 2021, 333 dossiers had been assessed under ZAZIBONA since its founding, with a median time to a joint recommendation of 12 months.[6] That is not dramatically faster than ZAMRA’s own full-review target of 351 days — the saving is that a single joint assessment can carry the dossier across several participating countries at once, and that a positive recommendation then unlocks ZAMRA’s faster 90-day verification track for the national step.
This is not a standing pathway you can file into anytime
Unlike a national abbreviated-registration guideline that stays open, ZAZIBONA runs on invited Expressions of Interest — ZAMRA and its partner authorities periodically publish an EOI window for a defined product category, and applicants respond to that specific call.[7] You cannot submit a ZAZIBONA dossier the day you decide you want one; you apply when a relevant window opens. Check ZAMRA’s guidelines page for the current EOI before planning a launch date around this route.
What ZAMRA actually asks for: the CTD, by review model
Zambia’s dossier format follows the SADC CTD format and the ICH structure, with quality-module guidance built on WHO’s guidelines for registration of multisource (generic) medicines.[8] Every application needs at least two samples of the product in the smallest proposed commercial pack.[3]
- Scope
- Full CTD Modules 1 to 5 — administrative and product information, summaries, quality, non-clinical and clinical or bioequivalence data.[8]
- Target
- 351 calendar days, inclusive of the time the applicant takes to answer queries.[1]
- Applies to
- Any applicant not eligible for a faster route — the default for a new-to-Zambia generic with no reference approval yet.
- Scope
- Full Modules 1 and 2; only summaries of Modules 3, 4 and 5 are required, not the complete underlying data.[1]
- Reference evidence
- A Certificate of Pharmaceutical Product is required with the application or before authorisation, plus the reference agency’s assessment report where verification review is being requested.[1]
- Target
- 90 days for verification review; 351 days for abridged review at ZAMRA specifically, since Zambia’s abridged category is narrow.[1]
- Samples
- At least two samples of the product in the smallest proposed commercial pack size, for every review model.[3]
- Manufacturing evidence
- Copies of the current GMP certificate for the manufacturer and any packer, or the equivalent manufacturing licence, for each site involved.
- Legal basis for GMP
- ZAMRA grants a marketing authorisation only where it is satisfied the medicine is manufactured under cGMP “as recommended by the World Health Organisation or any other recognised entity” — the same WHO-GMP concept this site covers separately.[3] See what WHO-GMP certification actually means if that distinction is not yet clear.
- Who
- A foreign-based applicant must appoint a Local Responsible Person residing in Zambia, subject to the Companies Act, 2017.[3]
- What they do
- Submit the application, documents and samples on the applicant’s behalf, and receive ZAMRA’s decisions on the application.[3]
- After grant
- The Local Responsible Person implements the pharmacovigilance plan on behalf of the foreign marketing-authorisation holder.[3]
- What the regulation does not say
- Unlike some peer regulators, this regulation does not on its face require the Local Responsible Person to hold their own ZAMRA wholesale or distribution licence — only that they reside in Zambia and are formally appointed. Confirm current practice with ZAMRA before assuming that is sufficient.
Fees, in US dollars
ZAMRA’s published fee schedule prices registration of an imported finished product separately from the GMP inspection of the manufacturing site, and separately again from the recurring costs of keeping the authorisation alive.[2]
| Fee line | Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Registration — Generics, imported finished product | US$2,000 | Per product |
| Registration — New chemical entity / Biological | US$2,800 | Per product |
| Registration — Abridged application | US$1,700 | Per product; confirm whether this line also covers a verification-review submission |
| Annual retention fee — Human generics | US$800 / year | Due 31 December each year after the grant year[3] |
| Renewal of marketing authorisation — Human generics | US$1,200 | Filed at least 180 days before the 5-year expiry[3] |
| Minor / Major amendment | US$100 / US$500 | Decided within 90 days[3] |
| GMP inspection, foreign site — Far East / Asia | US$6,500 | Covers the full site; India sits in this tier |
| GMP documents evaluation (desk audit) per site | US$3,500 | Where a full on-site inspection is not required |
| GMP inspection, additional production line | US$1,500 | Per line |
| Preclearance QA fee — registered product, commercial consignment | 1.5% of FOB invoice value | Per consignment, at import |
| Preclearance QA fee — unregistered product | 5% of FOB invoice value | Per consignment, at import |
| Fast-track review | Double the applicable MA fee | For demonstrated unmet medical need |
Scroll sideways on a phone. All figures from ZAMRA’s published Fees for Marketing Authorisation schedule, applying rates set under the Medicines and Allied Substances (Fees) Regulations.[2]
Zambia registration and GMP planner
Indicative only, not a quotation. Excludes dossier preparation, sample shipping, the Local Responsible Person’s own fees, and the preclearance QA charge on each shipment. Confirm current tariffs with ZAMRA before committing budget.
Where a ZAMRA marketing authorisation actually stands, over time
Grant. Marketing authorisation issued, valid for five years from the date on the certificate.[3]
Annual retention. Fee due by 31 December each year after the grant year. Miss it, and the authorisation is suspended and import stops — not just a late fee.[3]
Amendments. Any change to the file — formulation, site, packaging — needs a filed amendment, decided within 90 days.[3]
Renewal window. File at least 180 days before the five-year expiry, with a consolidated amendments report and a product quality review.[3]
Miss the window. A rejected renewal does not end the relationship — you can file a fresh marketing authorisation application under the standard process instead.[3]
Where ZAMRA sits regionally, and why that matters commercially
Zambia’s pharmaceutical imports were valued at US$307.21 million in 2024, per the UN COMTRADE database.[10] Unlike Rwanda, Tanzania, Nigeria and several other regional peers, ZAMRA has not yet reached WHO Global Benchmarking Tool Maturity Level 3 — as of a September 2026 memorandum of understanding with Namibia’s regulator, closing that gap remains an active, named objective rather than an achieved status.[11]
That is not a reason to discount the market. It is a reason to plan around ZAMRA’s own published targets rather than around a maturity signal it has not yet reached, and to lean on the verification-review evidence — WHO PQ, an SRA approval, or a ZAZIBONA recommendation — wherever your product actually has it. For the wider East and Southern African picture, our pharmaceutical export to Africa guide sets out market entry models across the continent, and the Rwanda FDA guide and Tanzania TMDA guide cover the two EAC regulators already at WHO Maturity Level 3, for comparison.
Where Zambia filings lose time
- Assuming abridged is the fast lane. At ZAMRA it isn’t — verification review is, and only for products with real reference-agency evidence behind them.[1]
- Filing without the unredacted report. ZAMRA’s verification review depends on the reference agency’s assessment report being genuinely accessible, not just a public summary.[1]
- Treating ZAZIBONA as always-open. It runs on invited Expressions of Interest for defined product categories, not continuous filing.[7]
- Missing the 31 December retention deadline. The consequence is suspension and a halt on further import, not a grace period.[3]
- Leaving renewal to the last minute. The 180-day-ahead filing requirement is earlier than several regional peers.[3]
- Underscoping the GMP inspection tier. An Indian site sits in the Far East/Asia tier at US$6,500 for a full inspection — budget for it rather than assuming the domestic-manufacture desk-audit rate applies.
- No Local Responsible Person lined up before filing. A foreign applicant cannot submit at all without one appointed and residing in Zambia.[3]
Frequently asked questions
ZAMRA’s published target is 351 calendar days for a full review, 90 days for a verification review where a qualifying reference approval exists, and 113 days for a fast-track priority review. Actual mean approval times recorded for generics were 240 days in 2019 and 214 days in 2020, so the full-review target is a reasonable planning figure.
It is a reliance pathway targeting 90 calendar days, open to products already approved by WHO Prequalification, a stringent regulatory authority or WHO-Listed Authority, or ZAZIBONA. It requires the reference agency’s genuine assessment report, not just a public summary, and only Modules 1 and 2 need to be filed in full.
No, and this is where most guides mislead exporters. ZAMRA’s abridged review is reserved for legacy molecules considered minimal risk, and carries the same 351-day target as a full review. Verification review, not abridged review, is where the 90-day timeline sits.
Not on CDSCO approval by itself, because CDSCO is not a WHO-Listed Authority. WHO Prequalification of the product, an approval from an actual stringent authority such as US FDA or an EU authorisation, or a positive ZAZIBONA recommendation would each open the door instead.
US$2,000 for a standard generic registration, or US$1,700 for an abridged application, per ZAMRA’s published fee schedule. That excludes the GMP inspection of the manufacturing site, which runs US$6,500 for a full inspection of a Far East/Asia site or US$3,500 for a documents-only desk audit.
Yes. A foreign-based applicant must appoint a Local Responsible Person residing in Zambia, who submits the application and samples, receives ZAMRA’s decisions, and later runs the pharmacovigilance plan on the marketing-authorisation holder’s behalf.
Five years from grant. Renewal must be filed at least 180 days before expiry, with a consolidated report of amendments made and a product quality review. Miss the deadline and you can still file a fresh application, but you lose the continuity of the existing authorisation.
The marketing authorisation is suspended, ZAMRA will not authorise further import of the product, and the authorisation may be revoked outright. This is a harder consequence than a simple late fee, so the 31 December deadline is worth calendaring properly.
No. ZAZIBONA runs on Expressions of Interest that ZAMRA and its partner authorities open for specific product categories, not continuous filing. Check the current EOI on ZAMRA’s guidelines page before planning a launch timeline around this route.
Related guides on Puizer India
Filing in Zambia from an Indian manufacturing site?
Tell us the molecule, dosage form and pack size. We’ll tell you honestly which ZAMRA review model you’re likely eligible for and what your dossier is still missing.
Request a country-specific export packReferences
- Sithole T, Mahlangu G, Capote V, Sitoie T, Shifotoka S, Gaeseb J, et al. Evaluation of the Review Models and Approval Timelines of Countries Participating in the Southern African Development Community: Alignment and Strategies for Moving Forward. Front Med. 2021;8:742200. Available from: https://www.frontiersin.org/journals/medicine/articles/10.3389/fmed.2021.742200/full. Accessed September 2026.
- Zambia Medicines Regulatory Authority. Fees for Marketing Authorisation. Lusaka: ZAMRA. Available from: https://www.zamra.co.zm/wp-content/uploads/2023/05/FEES-FOR-MARKETING-AUTHORISATION.pdf. Accessed September 2026.
- Government of Zambia. Statutory Instrument No. 79 of 2019: The Medicines and Allied Substances (Marketing Authorisation of Medicines) Regulations, 2019, made under the Medicines and Allied Substances Act, 2013 (Act No. 3 of 2013). Lusaka: Government Printer; 22 November 2019. Available from: https://faolex.fao.org/docs/pdf/zam196363.pdf. Accessed September 2026.
- Sithole T, Mahlangu G, Salek S, Walker S. Regulatory Authority Evaluation of the Effectiveness and Efficiency of the ZaZiBoNa Collaborative Medicines Registration Initiative: The Way Forward. Front Med. 2022;9:898743. Available from: https://www.frontiersin.org/journals/medicine/articles/10.3389/fmed.2022.898743/full. Accessed September 2026.
- Tanzania Medicines and Medical Devices Authority. The ZAZIBONA Collaborative Medicines Registration Procedure. Dodoma: TMDA. Available from: https://www.tmda.go.tz/pages/the-zazibona-collaorative-medicines-registration-procedure. Accessed September 2026.
- Sithole T, Mahlangu G, Walker S, Salek S. Pharmaceutical Industry Evaluation of the Effectiveness and Efficiency of the ZaZiBoNa Collaborative Medicines Registration Initiative: The Way Forward. Front Med. 2022;9:898725. Available from: https://www.frontiersin.org/journals/medicine/articles/10.3389/fmed.2022.898725/full. Accessed September 2026.
- Zambia Medicines Regulatory Authority. Guidelines page, including Expression of Interest and Assessment Process Workflow documents for ZAZIBONA. Lusaka: ZAMRA. Available from: https://www.zamra.co.zm/guidelines/. Accessed September 2026.
- Zambia Medicines Regulatory Authority. Guidance on Submission of Applications for Marketing Authorisation in CTD Format – Quality. Lusaka: ZAMRA. Available from: https://www.zamra.co.zm/wp-content/uploads/2023/08/Guidance-on-submission-of-applications-for-Marketing-authorisation-in-CTD-format-Quality.pdf. Accessed September 2026.
- World Health Organization. List of WHO Listed Authorities (WLAs). Geneva: WHO; December 2025. Available from: https://cdn.who.int/media/docs/default-source/medicines/regulatory-systems/wla/list_of_wla.pdf. Accessed September 2026.
- United Nations COMTRADE database on international trade, via Trading Economics. Zambia Imports of Pharmaceutical Products. Figure for 2024: US$307.21 million. Available from: https://tradingeconomics.com/zambia/imports/pharmaceutical-products. Accessed September 2026.
- Lusaka Times. ZAMRA, NHRA Sign Clinical Trials MoU. Lusaka; September 2026. Available from: https://www.lusakatimes.com/2026/09/03/zamra-nhra-sign-clinical-trials-mou/. Accessed September 2026.
Scope and limitations. This page is technical and educational content for pharmaceutical exporters, importers and distributors. It is not legal or regulatory advice, and it is not a substitute for the current text of the instruments cited. Zambian statutory instruments, fee schedules and regional harmonisation procedures change; confirm every figure directly with ZAMRA before committing filings or budgets.
Where this page could not verify. The detailed procedure and validity period for a per-consignment import permit under Statutory Instrument No. 57 of 2017 could not be retrieved in machine-readable form and is not stated here. Whether ZAMRA’s published “Abridged Application” fee line applies to verification-review submissions, or only to the narrower abridged-review category, is not stated in the fee schedule itself; confirm with ZAMRA before budgeting. The review-model targets in reference 1 reflect a 2021 published study using 2019–2020 data; ZAMRA’s current internal targets may have been revised since.




